by Fast Arrow

supported by
  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

     $5 USD  or more




Fast Arrow are the Seattle synthpop duo of Lesley Braden and Brendan Mills-McCabe. The two met while enrolled at a local community college’s audio engineering program. The six songs that make up their debut EP, Alibi, are the result of a shared obsession with pop music history, audio technology, and production techniques.

Good songwriting and Braden’s strong vocals anchor the songs on Alibi, and catchy melodies with lush harmonies place many of the songs in pop-friendly territory. The tracks are danceable, with traces of darkness and mystery. Electronic and acoustic drums, guitars, and analog synthesizers are layered into the EP’s instrumentation.

Drawing from a broad set of influences from Kraftwerk to Michael Jackson, Fast Arrow’s sound ends up settling mostly in the realm of bands such as the Cars, Hot Chip, Air, and early Duran Duran. The first track on the EP, “Ranks of Love,” tells a tale of the power struggle in a doomed love affair. The song builds up from a sparse intro of synth bass and minimal drums into a gritty tension of angular distorted guitars. The title track, “Alibi,” sets a spooky tone of the crimes of love and society with eerie synth melodies, hi-hat accents, and bass guitar flourishes. Other tracks on the album range from the danceable “Sound of Thunder,” to the melancholy “Own Way of Dying.”

Performed, engineered, and produced by Fast Arrow, Alibi is a labor of love and the attention to detail is apparent. The sound will perk up your ears and the songs will stay with you.


released 05 June 2012

All songs written by Lesley Braden, except "Alibi" written by Lesley Braden and Brendan Mills-McCabe

Lesley Braden: vocals, bass, guitar, synthesizers, drum programming
Brendan Mills-McCabe: drums, percussion, synthesizers, drum programming
Sergio Freire: saxophones on "Sound of Thunder" and "All or Nothing"
Vinny Smith: background vocals on "All or Nothing"
Lars Mortensen: background vocals on "All or Nothing"

Recorded and mixed by Fast Arrow at Redroom Studios and Home with additional engineering by Christiaan Morris and Silvio Tavares

Mastered by Ed Brooks at RFI

Back Cover artwork by Rachael Mills-McCabe



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist

contact / help

Contact Fast Arrow

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code